Sorry ya’ll, this one is rough. The writer’s block struggle is real. Just work through this with me and we’ll get through it together!

Though it may not feel like it when it comes to the weather (30 degrees in May, WTF is this place?) but summer is coming. The school semester is almost over and when I lived in Florida, this was the time I started to put together the perfect tanning playlist with all the songs that reminded me of summer, and all the songs that were supposed to be big “summer” songs. Even though the Ithaca weather has not been cooperating, I’m still trying to get in that summer mood and look for songs that have that summer vibe.

Have you looked on iTunes right now though? All the new songs are SLOW. Summer songs need to be upbeat, fun, and occasionally have the word summer in them somewhere. Slow songs are for January and February, when everyone is cold and depressed.

Summer songs are the ones you blast when you can open the windows for the first time in months. When I lived at home my room was in the basement, and I remember turning my boombox radio on and Nsync’s  “Pop” was playing so loud, I would open the window and that fresh air smell would come in, I would take a deep breath of it, wet dirt and budding flowers, the breeze was like a warm hug. It was the time of year where I’d clean every inch of my room. I had a vanity filled perfumes and lotions that I barely used, but I’d use this one lavender hand lotion when the weather was just right, my hands would smell like spring. As I get older, whenever I smell lavender I think of pigtails and roll on glitter and jean overalls, the strum of Incubus “Drive”.

My first year in college, driving down country roads with the windows down, I’d listen to Justin Timberlake’s Future/Sex Love Sounds album, the volume so loud my heart beat changed to the beat of the songs. “Love Stoned/I Think She Knows” was the best when the sun was the highest in the sky, my elbow resting on the door. Seriously that transition between songs is AMAZING.

One summer after we moved to our second apartment in Florida, we got annual passes to Universal Studios and on the weekends when Marc was working I would walk to the park on the weekends and go to the summer concerts. I would craft the perfect playlist, depending on who the performer was that weekend, walking down Kirkman Road with my headphones in and the sweat sliding down my back, the sun burning my shoulders and my face. The sidewalk was my runway, Flo Rida’s “Low” would be blasting and I’d hear Tyra Banks cheering me on, “Smize!” “Do the booty tooch!” I’d pretend Miss Jay was critiquing my runway walk, I was in a fashion show for one, wearing hot pink basketball shorts, beat up tennis shoes, a harry potter t-shirt and a white baseball hat. My hair would be sticking to the sides of my face, I’d look at my reflection in the windows of the McDonald’s, lip synching to “Blurred Lines”.

Maybe it’s a little early for me to be looking for good summer songs, but I’ve been checking iTunes every Friday and so far nothing but slow songs. Harry Styles? Slow song. Katy Perry’s new songs? Um no. New Linkin Park? BORING. Where is the next “Shake it Off” or “Cool for the Summer”?! Am I going to be dragging the Chain Smokers “Closer” from LAST YEAR all the way to this summer? Because I don’t know if I can handle it anymore. We could use “Paris” but that’s still a little slow. It’s missing that summer sound. I’ve been using “Can’t Stop The Feeling” as my alarm song since it came out last year. Marc HATES 5:30 AM because he can’t take JT anymore.

Ya know, I love Adele, but I blame her. She makes millions off of slow depressing music. She is such a sweet person and I love listening to her talk and she’s so FUNNY. Like my girl Kelly Clarkson (who has SO MANY SUMMER WORTHY SONGS I can’t list them all, but we can start with “Miss Independent” OR anything from From Justin to Kelly, that movie oozes of summer with a hint of failed careers (I’m looking at you Mr. Guarini), but anyway, Adele, girl, you made everyone want to write sad songs to win Grammys even though no one can do that but you cause you are so talented no one can reach you. So tell everyone to go back to singing their bubble gum pop. Everyone is so miserable with life right now; music doesn’t need to be miserable too.

You know what I think has great potential for being a summer hit? “Despacito” by Luis Fonsi & Daddy Yankee ft. Justin Bieber. I know, Bieber is a tool, but I LOVE that kid’s music. I just keep giving him my money to be a jerk and make good music. I am part of that problem, I accept it. I also think “Stay” by Zedd and Alessia Cara has summer possibilities, maybe “Hey Ma” by Pitbull with my girl former Fifth Harmony member Camila Cabello. I have high hopes for her, but that performance on the MTV Movie awards last night just was not strong enough. She looked fab though.

Maybe it’s just too early and I’m so desperate for warm weather that I’m expecting my summer songs in May when they are waiting until June. What do you think? Please share your fave summer songs with me!

Leave a Reply

