A few days ago I realized that Marc and I have been in Ithaca almost a year now. When I meet new people and they ask how long we’ve been here, I still find myself saying, “We just moved here.” But when I actually think about it, we will have been here a year on May 6th, I believe.

We had been planning and prepping for our move for almost two years, which gave me a lot of time to build up this wonderful imaginary idea of how it was all going to be. We also sometimes talked about if we were doing the best thing for us, and if it was the right time. As those of you who know me know, the move has not been easy and when I’m surrounded by 10 feet of snow and I’m pouring bags of wooden pellets into a pellet stove to heat our home like I’m on Little House on the Prairie, I like to question my life choices.

But when we first moved to Florida it wasn’t easy either. We moved there when Tropical Storm Fay was trying to decide if she was gonna go, or stay, or come back. That damn storm zigzagged all over Orlando like 10 times. I had never seen so much rain before. I was trying to get everything set with my college classes, get all my books, figure out what the hell our address was (seriously our first address was SO long), and get everything set with my two jobs, all while getting lost on I-4 during monsoon rains and rush hour. And EVERYONE was driving through that shit with their hazard lights on. Wtf Floridians, you live there get it together.

Moving to Ithaca was a different kind of scary, in that we went from a place that was constantly buzzing with activity, to place that was much like my hometown in Michigan, where when I was younger I would feel trapped in my room with nowhere to go. As I’ve gotten older, I’ve realized that I just wasn’t looking hard enough because there is always somewhere to go.

If there’s one thing I’ve learned about Ithaca in the year that I’ve been here, there is always something to do. Sure, it’s not walking down the street and strolling into Universal for a Butterbeer, or wearing my tutu skirt and Mickey Mouse years around the Magic Kingdom, but it’s this laid back, lets go hang out and talk to the locals about whatever the hell you feel like type of entertainment that I’ve started to find very amusing.

For example, this past weekend Ithaca College hosted Ithacon. Think Comicon, but a lot more low key. Like you won’t see the cast of the newest DC movie, but you also won’t have to wait in a 10 hour line and stand shoulder to shoulder in a crowd of people to look at merchandise. My little nephew had his face painted like a cat, and got to sit and make fantasy themed crafts for two hours. He was in toddler heaven. I also got into a fight with a tube of glitter glue. It was on the wall and in my hair. I promise I am an adult. Anyway, there were panels, speakers (Roger Stern and Jim Shooter were there. If you’re into comics this is a big deal. I didn’t get a chance to see the presentation because we were crafting which is way more important because I got to make a crown with FLOWERS, be jealous, but I’m sure the presentation it was pretty awesome.) crafts for kids, workshops, and vendors. I got to wear my Hogwarts outfit for the second time since moving here. That in itself is a win.

The section with the vendors I think was one of my favorites. Ithaca has so many talented people, and they were all selling prints of their art and their own comics for SO cheap. We visited one of the tables, and the two guys were giving us some prices, all the comics were a dollar, their art was a dollar, you buy 5 you get 1 free. I was baffled, and made a comment about everything being so cheap. One of the guys laughed and said, “Why yes, I am cheap.” I explained to them that I had moved here from Orlando, at Disney World a sheet of stickers is twenty dollars, and the guy said, “Well in THAT case, these are 30 and these are 100!” People in Ithaca just love to talk. No one was pressuring us to buy anything, they just love to chat.

I think it’s because the areas around here are so spread out, that the only time we are all around people is when we go to work and when we go to these events. We go out to grocery shop and it’s like “OMG HUMANS!” It also still is so weird to me that when I go places here, because it’s so small, I actually see people I know, or someone I’m related to. I went 10 years in Florida without seeing anyone I know when I went to run errands. In Ithaca I see someone every weekend. It puts the pressure on to actually look nice before I go out, instead of rolling out of bed, throwing a hat on, and venturing out in yesterday’s outfit, which I also slept in.

Don’t judge me, I’m sure you’ve done it before.

Anyway, so to sort of recap all this really great and fun stuff we’ve done since we got here, I wanted to share some pictures of Ithacon, and some pictures from our first year. Ithaca really is a beautiful place, and even though it’s been a huge adjustment from the insanity that was Orlando, I am truly happy that we’re here. I’m also going to like bookmark this, so when there is another 10 feet of snow in like July or something, or I’m in our bathroom and I hear a river in the crawl space (aka the spider dungeon) under our house because the yard is flooded and the ground is frozen and water is just like EVERYWHERE, I can look back at this and be like, “Huh, I did say I was happy here. Alright let’s go get the damn shovels and get this shit handled.”

P.S. There is going to be a great post about being a first time homeowner coming up soon. I just have to be in the right mood to write it. Because like we have no idea what the hell is even going on half the time, it is a whole different level of adulting that I’m pretty sure the school of life should offer a class on. As my nephew said yesterday, as we were sitting at a table making crowns with stickers and glitter glue and tulle, “I don’t even know what I’m doing right now.” Me neither kid, I say that to myself almost everyday. It’s good to know we are on the same page.

Ithaca is Gorges!

IMG_4799
Taughannock Falls, the first week we came to Ithaca.
IMG_4887
Yes, this is real life.

Fests and more fests!

Ithacon Adventures!

Lastly, ALL THE ICE CREAM!

 

Leave a Reply

